Venetian Dream

Vincent De Grandi | Undated
Oil on canvas | 22 x 34.5 cm
Period 1969-1984: The beauty of the
imaginary world | Landscape with architecture
Inventory VDG-34 | Private
collection Photo L'Atelier De Grandi

 

Artistic features

Subject:

Gantry emerging from a lagoon

An imaginary portico emerging from a lagoon, accompanied by a gondola and darkly dressed characters reminiscent of doctors treating the plague in Venice in 1575.

Composition:

Marine

The dominant figure (the portico) is fully in keeping with the elongated horizontal format of the painting and separates the space into two areas: the foreground area, made up of sand and water banks where some much smaller figures are located, and the barely perceptible area of the open lagoon in the background, behind the portico, where the horizon almost melts into the sky. This separation gives the scene a character of contemplative stagnation.

Medium:

Oil on canvas

"The technique [of oil painting] remains traditional, smooth and fine, with a great flexibility of touch [more suggestive than descriptive], a delicate refinement of matter. "
Georges Peillex, Exhibition catalogue p. 46

Pallet:

Venetian Dream 10 Colour Palette
Dominant : 12890004

A range of colours very close to each other (the sky contains beige tones of the portico and the lagoon), with no contrast apart from the dark tones of the little characters, allows Vincent to create this atmosphere without shadows and all in transparency, both stagnant and contemplative.

Background

Period:

1969-1984: The beauty of the world

With the independence gained for their children, Italo and Vincent also find their own: they leave graphic arts and silkscreen printing and blossom in the plastic arts. Vincent expresses his imagination mainly through oil painting and drawing, exclusively in his studio. Italo, always on the subject, pursues his contemplation of landscape, his wonder in front of nature, and goes from oil painting to washing through watercolour, tempera, charcoal, lead pencil or sanguine and is initiated to sculpture in wrought iron.

Share this page

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp

Leave a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

image

Click/Touch to enlarge

Click/Touch to enlarge

Venetian Dream

Rêve vénitien

Vincent De Grandi | Non daté
Huile sur toile | 22 x 34.5 cm
Période 1969-1984 : La beauté du monde
Imaginaire | Paysage avec architectures
Inventaire VDG-34 | Collection privée
Photo L’Atelier De Grandi

 

Caractéristiques artistiques

Sujet:

Portique émergeant d’une lagune

Portique imaginaire émergeant d’une lagune, accompagné d’une gondole et de personnages à l’accoutrement sombre réminiscents médecins soignant la peste à Venise en 1575.

Composition:

Marine

La figure dominante (le portique) s’inscrit pleinement dans le format horizontal très allongé du tableau et en sépare l’espace en deux aires: celle du premier plan, fait de banc de sables et d’eau où se situent quelques personnages de bien plus petite taille, et celle à peine perceptible de la lagune ouverte située à l’arrière-plan, derrière le portique, dont l’horizon se fond presque dans le ciel. Cette séparation confère à la scène un caractère de stagnation contemplative.

Technique:

Huile sur toile

“La technique [de la peinture à l’huile] reste traditionnelle, lisse et fine, d’une grande souplesse de touche [plus suggestive que descriptive], d’un délicat raffinement de matière.”
Georges Peillex, Catalogue de l’exposition p. 46

Palette:

Palette 10 couleurs Rêve Vénitien
Dominante : 12890004

Une gamme de couleurs très proches les unes des autres (le ciel contient des tons beiges du portique et de la lagune), sans contraste à part les tons sombres des petits personnages, permet à Vincent de créer cette atmosphère sans ombres et toute en transparences, à la fois stagnante et contemplative.

Contexte

Période:

1969-1984 : La beauté du monde

Avec l’indépendance acquise pour leurs enfants, Italo et Vincent trouvent également la leur: ils quittent les arts graphiques et la sérigraphie, et s’épanouissent dans la création plastique. Vincent exprime son imaginaire principalement par la peinture à l’huile et le dessin, exclusivement en atelier. Italo, toujours sur le sujet, poursuit sa contemplation du paysage, son émerveillement devant la nature, et va de la peinture à l’huile au lavis en passant par l’aquarelle, la tempera, le fusain, la mine de plomb ou la sanguine et s’initie à la sculpture en fer battu.

Partagez cette page

Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur pinterest
Partager sur whatsapp

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

image

Cliquer/Toucher pour agrandir

Cliquer/Toucher pour agrandir

Rêve vénitien