Pont-Marie

Wilhelm Gimmi | 1932
Oil on canvas | 46 x 38 cm
Parisian period (1908-1940)
Characters
Inventory 12-GIM-0021 | Wilhelm Gimmi Foundation
Photo: Julien Gremaud, Vevey

 

Artistic features

Subject:

Carrier of daily burdens

Wilhelm Gimmi is not a news painter. His interests lead him to the subjects of everyday life, the daily gestures, which he strips of all anecdotal evidence to reveal them in a simplicity that is full of universality. The subject is of no importance in itself: it is only a pretext to let poetry express itself, the intimacy stemming from the depth of things.
Laurence Rippstein, Exhibition catalogue p. 53-54

Composition:

Figure and background | Geometric reminders

Full centre and full height figure, superimposed on a background discreetly signifying the context of the character by a few indications of perspective and a repetition of the angular lines of his posture: the diagonals of the branches of the leafless tree, the vanishing line of the buildings. A solid construction that underlines the impression of both solitude and familiarity between this woman and this bare urban space.

Medium:

Oil on canvas

From 1917 onwards, Gimmi, weary of doing things after Matisse or Picasso, nourished the ambition to set his work on a personal path that would escape fashions and manners. In his paintings, this intention is expressed in simple forms, without mannerism [...].
Laurence Rippstein, Exhibition catalogue p. 53-54

Pallet:

Dominant: 13217934

Two ranges of grey tones: violets and beiges in subtle complementarity, which unite in an organic whole the character and his context.

Background

Period:

Parisian period (1908-1940)

During the four years of the war, he remains hidden with his palette and his models in the vast workshop with its bay windows, a room soaked with friendly light and placid philosophy. It is a real strategic corner from where he attends the walk of the bourgeois and gossips (he explains all this in a very beautiful painting: "Bridge of Mary").
Nesto Jacometti, Exhibition catalogue p. 76

Artistic current:

Personal Synthesis

I can see that everyone is Cézannian, that everyone does modernism (Salon d'Automne) better than Picasso, Matisse and Renoir, but I don't want to do like everyone else and I am certainly more modern by avoiding pastiches. The passage through Cézanne was necessary - I don't deny the influences, on the contrary, they are digested influences - but I never tried to create a clever and easy way for myself, on the contrary. You have to give up a lot of things if you want to create something lasting, because doing something more skilful than Matisse will be out of fashion in a few years. Let's wait. Believe me, I have seen a lot, observed a lot and I can say without pretension that I know modern painting in all its manifestations.
Wilhelm Gimmi, Letter to the Zurich gallery owner Tanner, 1918.

Share this page

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp

Leave a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

image

Click/Touch to enlarge

Click/Touch to enlarge

Pont-Marie

W Gimmi: Pont-Marie HD

Pont-Marie

Wilhelm Gimmi | 1932
Huile sur toile | 46 x 38 cm
Période parisienne (1908-1940)
Personnages
Inventaire 12-GIM-0021 | Fondation Wilhelm Gimmi
Photo : Julien Gremaud, Vevey

 

Caractéristiques artistiques

Sujet:

Porteuse des fardeaux quotidiens

Wilhelm Gimmi n’est pas un peintre d’actualité. Ses intérêts le portent vers les sujets de la vie de tous les jours, les gestes quotidiens, qu’il dépouille de tout ce qu’ils ont d’anecdotique pour les révéler dans une simplicité toute empreinte d’universalité. Le sujet n’a en lui-même pas d’importance : il n’est que prétexte pour laisser s’exprimer la poésie, l’intimité issue de la profondeur des choses.
Laurence Rippstein, Catalogue de l’exposition p. 53-54

Composition:

Figure et fond | Rappels géométriques

Figure plein centre et pleine hauteur, superposée à un fond signifiant discrètement le contexte du personnage par quelques indications de perspective et une reprise des lignes angulaires de sa posture : les diagonales des branches de l’arbre sans feuilles, la ligne de fuite des bâtiments. Une construction solide qui souligne l’impression à la fois de solitude et de familiarité entre cette femme et cet espace urbain dépouillé.

Technique:

Huile sur toile

A partir de 1917, Gimmi, lassé de faire de l’après Matisse ou Picasso, nourrit l’ambition d’engager son œuvre dans une voie personnelle qui échapperait aux modes et aux manières. Dans ses peintures, cette intention se traduit par des formes simples, sans maniérisme […]
Laurence Rippstein, Catalogue de l’exposition p. 53-54

Palette:

Dominante : 13217934

Deux gammes de tons grisés : violets et beiges en subtile complémentarité, qui unissent en un tout organique le personnage et son contexte

Contexte

Période:

Période parisienne (1908-1940)

Pendant les quatre ans de guerre, il reste tapi avec sa palette et ses modèles, dans le vaste atelier aux baies vitrées, une pièce toute imbibée de lumière amicale et de placide philosophie. C’est un vrai coin stratégique d’où il assiste à la promenade des bourgeois et des commères (il explique tout ça dans un très beau tableau : « Pont de Marie »).
Nesto Jacometti, Catalogue de l’exposition p. 76

Courant artistique:

Synthèse personnelle

Je vois bien que tout le monde est cézannien, que tout le monde fait du modernisme (Salon d’Automne) mieux que Picasso, Matisse et Renoir, mais je ne veux pas faire comme tout le monde et je suis certainement plus moderne en évitant les pastiches. Le passage par Cézanne était nécessaire – je ne nie pas les influences, au contraire, ce sont des influences digérées – mais je n’ai jamais cherché à me créer une manière habile et facile, au contraire. Il faut renoncer à beaucoup de choses si l’on veut créer quelque chose de durable, car faire plus habile que Matisse sera passé de mode d’ici quelques années. Attendons. Croyez-moi j’ai beaucoup vu, beaucoup observé et je peux dire sans prétention que je connais la peinture moderne dans toutes ses manifestations.
Wilhelm Gimmi, Lettre au galeriste Zurichois Tanner, 1918

Partagez cette page

Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur pinterest
Partager sur whatsapp

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

image

Cliquer/Toucher pour agrandir

Cliquer/Toucher pour agrandir

Pont-Marie

W Gimmi : Pont-Marie HD