Window to the garden

Italo De Grandi
Oil on canvas | 60 x 49.5 cm
Period 1969-1984 : The beauty of the world
Landscape with architectures
Inventory IDG-765 | Private collection
Photo : Atelier De Grandi

 

Artistic features

Subject:

View of the vegetable garden from the window of the artist's house in Grignan (France)

"In fact, what exactly do we have in front of us? In my opinion, the testimony of a vast generosity. The painter's life and work seem to me to have been raised by an imprescriptible certainty: that the legitimacy of all human intervention in creation emanates from the intimate presence of the earthly paradise to be rebuilt around us."
Gilbert Vincent, Exhibition catalogue p. 115

Composition:

Double framing

The main frame is the one in the foreground: the stone house, peaceful, protective and nourishing; with the open window escape, the secondary frame, projecting the view on the domesticated nature of the garden, in the background.

Medium:

Oil on canvas

Keys full of momentum, inscribed in the rhythm of the whole painting, as well as in that of its smallest details.

"The technique [of oil painting] remains traditional, smooth and fine, with a great suppleness of touch, a delicate refinement of matter."
Georges Peillex, Exhibition catalogue p. 46

Pallet:

Dominant: 14403492

Two tonal ranges: one shaded and limited to brown-grey for the interior; the other illuminated and complex in green and yellow for the exterior; the pears in the foreground linking these two chromatic spaces.

Light:

Complementary interior from the outside

In this scene, the lighting is composed of minor chords from the inside responding to major chords from the outside.

Background

Period:

1969-1984: The beauty of the world

With the independence acquired for their children, Italo and Vincent also find their own: they leave graphic arts and silkscreen printing and blossom in plastic creation. Vincent expresses his imagination mainly through oil painting and drawing, exclusively in his studio. Italo, always on the subject, pursues his contemplation of the landscape, his wonder in front of nature, and goes from wash to watercolour through tempera, charcoal, lead pencil, here oil painting.

Share this page

Leave a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

image

Click/Touch to enlarge

Click/Touch to enlarge

Window to the garden

Fenêtre sur le jardin

Italo De Grandi | Non daté
Huile sur toile | 60 x 49.5 cm
Période 1969-1984 : La beauté du monde
Paysage avec architectures
Inventaire IDG-765 | Collection privée
Photo L’Atelier De Grandi

 

Caractéristiques artistiques

Sujet:

Vue du jardin potager par la fenêtre de la maison de l’artiste à Grignan (France)

“En fait, qu’avons-nous au juste sous les yeux ? À mon sens, le témoignage d’une vaste générosité. La vie et l’œuvre du peintre me semblent avoir été soulevées par une certitude imprescriptible : que la légitimité de toute intervention humaine, dans la création, émane de la présence intime du paradis terrestre, à réédifier autour de soi.”
Gilbert Vincent, Catalogue de l’exposition p. 115

Composition:

Double cadrage

Le cadrage principal est celui du premier plan: la maison en pierre, paisible, protectrice et nourricière; avec l’échappée de la fenêtre ouverte, le cadrage secondaire, projetant le regard sur la nature domestiquée du jardin, au second plan.

Technique:

Huile sur toile

Touches pleines d’élan, inscrites dans la rythmique de l’ensemble du tableau, comme dans celle de ses moindres détail.

“La technique [de la peinture à l’huile] reste traditionnelle, lisse et fine, d’une grande souplesse de touche, d’un délicat raffinement de matière.”
Georges Peillex, Catalogue de l’exposition p. 46

Palette:

Dominante : 14403492

Deux gammes de tons : l’une ombrée et limitée aux bruns-gris pour l’intérieur; l’autre illuminée et complexe dans les tons verts et jaunes pour l’extérieur; les poires du premier plan faisant le lien entre ces deux espaces chromatiques.

Lumière:

Intérieure complémentaire de l’extérieure

Il y a dans cette scène un éclairage composé d’accords mineurs de l’intérieur répondant aux accord majeurs de l’extérieur.

Contexte

Période:

1969-1984 : La beauté du monde

Avec l’indépendance acquise pour leurs enfants, Italo et Vincent trouvent également la leur: ils quittent les arts graphiques et la sérigraphie, et s’épanouissent dans la création plastique. Vincent exprime son imaginaire principalement par la peinture à l’huile et le dessin, exclusivement en atelier. Italo, toujours sur le sujet, poursuit sa contemplation du paysage, son émerveillement devant la nature, et va du lavis à l’aquarelle en passant par la tempera, le fusain, la mine de plomb, ici la peinture à l’huile.

Partagez cette page

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

image

Cliquer/Toucher pour agrandir

Cliquer/Toucher pour agrandir

Fenêtre sur le jardin