Cabins at the beach

Italo De Grandi | Undated
Gouache on paper | 40 x 46 cm
Period 1940-1968: Silkscreen printing and holidays
Landscape | Landscape with architecture
Inventory IDG-596 | Private Collection
Photo L'Atelier De Grandi

 

Artistic features

Subject:

Beach cabins on the Adriatic Sea

5 p.m.: arrival at the beach of Marina di Ravenna on the Adriatic Sea. The cabins, motionless, give a glimpse of their secret garden: the empty beach, inviting the passer-by to come forward to share the immensity of the sea and the evening breeze.

Composition:

Movement from one plane to another

The foreground composed of two beach cabins dominates and conditions the entire composition of this work. The cabins, each with its own dimensions and character, considerably hide the second plane (the beach and the sea), leaving only a fraction of it visible (less than a third of the width of the painting) and thus inviting the eye, by their precise position in the central perspective, to go beyond their protective barrier by advancing on the beach, which extends from the first to the second plane without interruption.

Medium:

Gouache on paper

In this holiday work, the gouache was chosen for the ease with which it can be applied to the subject, outdoors, as well as its covering properties, which allow it to establish this contrasting atmosphere of late afternoon sunshine with large, bold shadows.

Pallet:

Palette 10 colors Beach cabins
Dominant : 9268829

A choice of Mediterranean colours, with a close relationship between the tones of the cabins and those of the sea, contrasted by the beiges of the sandy beach.

Background

Period:

1940-1968: Silkscreen printing and holidays

The war-torn world changed the world and challenged its societies and their culture: Italo started a family. He nourishes it by continuing to draw and create, i.e. by becoming a graphic designer and setting up a silkscreen printing workshop with his brother. But as soon as he's on holiday, he takes up his creative vein again from one day to the next. The result is a flowering of luminous gouaches tinged with the happiness of the painter finding brushes, palette and easel.
P. De Grandi and M.-O. Vaudou, Exhibition catalogue p. 18

Share this page

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp

Leave a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

image

Click/Touch to enlarge

Click/Touch to enlarge

Cabins at the beach

Cabines à la plage

Italo De Grandi | Non daté
Gouache sur papier | 40 x 46 cm
Période 1940-1968 : Sérigraphie et vacances
Paysage | Paysage avec architectures
Inventaire IDG-596 | Collection privée
Photo L’Atelier De Grandi

 

Caractéristiques artistiques

Sujet:

Cabines de plages sur l’Adriatique

5 heures de l’après-midi: arrivée à la plage de Marina di Ravenna sur la mer Adriatique. Les cabines, immobiles laissent entrevoir leur jardin secret: la plage vide, invitant le passant à s’avancer pour partager l’immensité de la mer et la brise du soir.

Composition:

Mouvement d’un plan à l’autre

Le premier plan composé de deux cabines de plage domine et conditionne toute la composition de cette œuvre. Les cabines, chacune avec ses dimensions et son caractère propre, masquent considérablement le second plan (la plage et la mer), pour n’en laisser entrevoir qu’une fraction (moins d’un tiers de la largeur du tableau) et inviter ainsi le regard, par leur rang précis dans la perspective centrale, à dépasser leur barrière protectrice en avançant sur la plage, qui elle s’étend du premier au second plan sans interruption.

Technique:

Gouache sur papier

Dans cette œuvre de vacances, choisit la gouache pour l’aisance de sa mise en œuvre sur le sujet, en extérieur, ainsi que ses propriétés couvrantes, qui lui permettent d’établir cette atmosphère contrastée de fin d’après-midi ensoleillé, aux grandes ombres franches.

Palette:

Palette 10 couleurs Cabines de plage
Dominante : 9268829

Un choix de couleurs méditerranéennes, avec une étroite parenté entre les tons des cabines et ceux de la mer, contrastés par les beiges de la plage de sable fin.

Contexte

Période:

1940-1968 : Sérigraphie et vacances

La déchirure de la guerre a changé le monde et mis en question ses sociétés et leur culture : Italo fonde une famille. Il la nourrit en continuant à dessiner et à créer, c’est-à-dire en se faisant graphiste et en installant avec son frère, un atelier de sérigraphie. Mais à peine en vacance il reprend d’un jour à l’autre son filon créateur. Il en résulte une floraison de gouaches lumineuses teintées du bonheur du peintre retrouvant pinceaux, palette et chevalet.
P. De Grandi et M.-O. Vaudou, Catalogue de l’exposition p. 18

Partagez cette page

Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur pinterest
Partager sur whatsapp

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

image

Cliquer/Toucher pour agrandir

Cliquer/Toucher pour agrandir

Cabines à la plage