PAVLINA

visionary art

The museum L'Atelier De Grandi presents a retrospective of 30 years of creation of the painter Pavlina, representative in Switzerland of the "Visionary Art", artistic movement represented by her master the French Gérard Di-Maccio and counting, among many international artists as Max Ernst, W.H. Füssli and the Swiss HR Giger, whom she knew well.

Pavlina paints her inner visions and tries to reconnect the human being to his deep nature. She reveals her spiritual journey between light and shadow.

Guided tours by the artist
the following Sundays at 3pm :
December 11, 2022
January 8, February 5, March 5, 2023

December 8, 2022
to March 5, 2023

Saturday and Sunday
from 2 to 6 pm

Rates :
Adults CHF 12 for
members/students/apprentices/AVS CHF 10 for
children up to 18 years of age free of charge

Access:
By public transport
or parking nearby
Sorry, wheelchair access is not possible

PAVLINA

PAVLINA

Swiss of German and Czechoslovakian origin, Pavlina was born in 1967. After a stay in Hawaii, she moved to Paris in 1986, studied French at the Sorbonne and met the leader of the visionary art movement in France, the painter Gérard Di-Maccio. In 1992 she returned to Germany to train in his studio.

In 1999 she opened her studio in Lausanne and then in Montreux.

More than one hundred exhibitions around the world are a testimony to her strong humanistic commitment. She is also the founder of the International Association Art Visionnaire Switzerland in Montreux.

PUBLISHED IN ACCROCHAGES DECEMBER 2022 - JANUARY 2023
flubi pavlina hangings

PAVLINA's talent initiates us into an inner journey of a mystical nature where the visitor is taken back to the origins of vision. The Atelier De Grandi museum presents a retrospective of 30 years of creation of the artist, in Corseaux, from December 8, 2022 to March 5, 2023.

By Christophe Flubacher, art historian

Pavlina's paintings reveal a fundamentally dual universe, where matter and spirit are still incompletely untangled, where solid and liquid, far from repelling each other, are combined, where light emerges from within, where substance and form are one, where the obvious and the formless dialogue in transparency, the visible and the invisible in counterpoint. The ground on which the whole of his work rests comes from worlds, cultures and spiritualities that tear us away from Western stereotypes. Here, Christ is a woman, there hands are lotus flowers from which a mystical clarity springs. And again, young and beautiful deities are part of a Thibetan tradition.

Each time, the bodies emerge, translucent, in a cinematographic fade where the character and the decor intermingle, each constituting the other. Sometimes the face splits. The first is only a halo that tends to recognition, the second materializes. In fact, Pavlina initiates temporality in her painting, a backward temporality that brings us back to the origins and makes us see the infinite range of possibilities, when the world was not yet domesticated by reason. So, yes, Pavlina is indeed a master of visionary art.

Endowed with a virtuosity properly hyperrealist, Pavlina uses it paradoxically to thwart the real and initiate us into her pre-world, nourished by new invention, to the genesis of the glance, when the pupil of the eye contains the Earth.

His painting alone determines the arcana of this art, which feeds on symbolism, mysticism and postulates a plural cosmogony. When it comes to defining visionary art, its supporters recognize how difficult it is to describe. Many artists, such as Odilon Redon or William Blake are often extracted from their gangue to serve the cause. Pavlina owes nothing to anyone, her painting is a reflection of the origins, the first light of dawn.

At the beginning is a majestic painting, "The Lovers of Autumn", whose texture, grain, porosity and pigmentation are reminiscent of Lascaux, with its walls where deer, horses, aurochs and rhinoceroses run. In the interstices of the canvas, one can guess parietal anfractuosities, hollows and fulls from which suddenly the eye finally guesses, grafted in the stone, a cheekbone, a wrinkled eye, the curve of a breast and the dawn of a kiss.

PAVLINA

art visionnaire

Le musée L’Atelier De Grandi présente une rétrospective de 30 ans de création de l’artiste peintre Pavlina, représentante en Suisse de «L’art visionnaire», mouvement artistique représenté par son maître le français Gérard Di-Maccio et comptant, parmi de nombreux artistes internationaux comme Max Ernst, W.H. Füssli et le suisse HR Giger, qu’elle a bien connu.

Pavlina peint ses visions intérieures et tente de reconnecter l’humain à sa nature profonde. Elle nous dévoile son parcours spirituel entre ombre et lumière.

Visites guidées par l'artiste
les dimanches suivants à 15h :
11 décembre 2022
8 janvier, 5 février, 5 mars 2023

du 8 décembre 2022
au 5 mars 2023

le samedi et le dimanche
de 14h à 18h

Tarifs :
Adultes   CHF 12.- 
Membres/étudiants/apprentis/AVS CHF   10.-
Enfants  gratuit jusqu’à 18 ans

Accès :
Par les transports publics
ou stationnement à proximité
Désolé, l’accès pour chaises roulantes n’est pas possible

PAVLINA

PAVLINA

Suissesse d’origine allemande et tchécoslovaque, Pavlina est née en 1967. Après un séjour à Hawaï, elle s’installe à Paris en 1986, suit des cours de français à la Sorbonne et fait la connaissance du chef de file du mouvement de l’art visionnaire en France, le peintre Gérard Di-Maccio. Formée dans son atelier elle revient en Allemagne en 1992.

En 1999 elle ouvre son atelier à Lausanne puis à Montreux.

Plus de cent expositions aux quatre coins de la planète témoignent de son fort engagement humaniste. Elle est également la fondatrice de l’Association internationale Art Visionnaire Switzerland à Montreux.

PARU DANS ACCROCHAGES DÉCEMBRE 2022 - JANVIER 2023
flubi pavlina accrochages

Le talent de PAVLINA nous initie à un voyage intérieur d’ordre mystique où le visiteur se voit ramené aux origines de la vision. Le musée L’Atelier De Grandi présente une rétrospective de 30 ans de création de l’artiste, à Corseaux, du 8 décembre 2022 au 5 mars 2023. 

Par Christophe Flubacher, historien de l’art

L’œuvre peint de Pavlina dévoile un univers fondamentalement dual, où matière et esprit se démêlent encore incomplètement, où solide et liquide, loin de se repousser, se conjuguent, où la lumière sourd de l’intérieur, où le fond et la forme ne font qu’un, où l’évidence et l’informe dialoguent en transparence, le visible et l’invisible en contrepoint. Le terreau sur lequel repose l’ensemble de son travail ressortit à des mondes, des cultures et des spiritualités qui nous arrachent aux stéréotypes occidentaux. Ici, le Christ est une femme, là des mains sont des fleurs de lotus d’où jaillit une clarté mystique. Et puis, là encore, de jeunes et belles divinités s’inscrivent dans une tradition thibétaine.

A chaque fois, les corps émergent, translucides, dans un fondu enchainé cinématographique où s’entremêlent le personnage et le décor, chacun constitutif de l’autre. Parfois le visage se dédouble. Le premier n’est qu’un halo qui tend à la reconnaissance, le second se matérialise. De fait, Pavlina initie la temporalité dans sa peinture, une temporalité à rebours qui nous ramène aux origines et fait voir l’étendue infinie des possibles, quand le monde n’était pas encore domestiqué par la raison. Alors, oui, Pavlina est bien maîtresse de l’art visionnaire.

Dotée d’une virtuosité proprement hyperréaliste, Pavlina s’en sert paradoxalement pour déjouer le réel et nous initier à son pré-monde, nourri de neuve invention, à la genèse du regard, quand la pupille de l’œil renferme la Terre.

Sa peinture à elle seule détermine les arcanes de cet art, qui se nourrit de symbolisme, de mysticisme et postule une cosmogonie plurielle. S’agissant de définir l’art visionnaire, ses thuriféraires reconnaissent combien il est difficile de le décrire. Nombre d’artistes, tels Odilon Redon ou William Blake sont souvent extraits de leur gangue à dessein de servir la cause. Pavlina, elle, ne doit rien à personne, sa peinture affleure aux origines, aux premières lueurs de l’aube.

Au commencement est un tableau majuscule, « Les amants de l’automne», dont la facture, le grain, la porosité et la pigmentation ne sont pas sans rappeler Lascaux, avec ses parois où courent cerfs, chevaux, aurochs et rhinocéros. Dans les interstices de la toile, l’on devine des anfractuosités pariétales, des creux et des pleins d’où soudain l’œil devine enfin, greffés dans la pierre, une pommette, un œil plissé, le galbe d’un sein et l’aurore d’un baiser.